forget or forgive

To forget or forgive

It haunted me for a long time

I chose to forgive

As i couldn’t forget

I told him it is okay

Slowly, the pain did end

History repeats itself

People repeats mistakes

I forgave again n again

As i did every time

Apathy laughed somewhere

It slowly housed in me

When i couldn’t forgive anymore

Thoughts of revenge did come

I did not succumb to such non-sense

One kills himself piece by piece in revenge

I knew if i forgive him this time

I pave the path to hurt myself

It was time, not to forgive nor forget

But to remember what he did

To live with it, with the pain

Constantly reminding myself

Hurt comes from the loved ones

I never forgot what he did

But i started to forget him as a person

He remained a past, a pre-existed being

Over the years, he was just a name

I think whether i forgave him

I do not know, i think i did

To forget is to not remember

The memories still haunt me

A part of me lives there in past

To forgive or forget

I say, forgive when you can’t forget

And forget when you can’t forgive

But it is not easy, i think.

2 thoughts on “forget or forgive

Leave a Reply

